DE SINGEL arts site is an architectural modernist gem, with a long, ‘interwoven’ history.
We take you back in time…
In 1958, the ministry of Public Works commissioned architect Léon Stynen to design an ambitious complex, a new conservatoire as an extension to the Antwerpsche Vlaamsche Muziekschool. But the process of involving a wider audience in the international music and theatre scene had already been started in 1867 (!) by composer and conductor Peter Benoit. Almost 100 years later, the first stone was laid, and 1968 saw the opening of the first phase of the new conservatoire, which featured a pavilion shaped like an open figure of eight with rooms overlooking two inner courtyards. During a television interview, Stynen said: "This is a beautiful piece of work. For me, it is truly an absolutely beautiful piece of work.”
Work resumed in 1973, after the governor of the Province of Antwerp Andries Kinsbergen proposed also housing the broadcaster BRT 2 Antwerp in the complex. In 1979, work began on the construction of phase two, which completed Stynen’s building plans.
As the size and cultural potential of the infrastructure far exceeded the conservatoire’s possibilities, the then director Eugène Traey appointed Frie Leysen on 1 December 1979 to help prepare the opening of the hall complex. On 4 November 1980, the deSingel Cultural Centre was officially opened in the presence of King Baudouin and Queen Fabiola, boasting halls in which conservatoire students, future musicians and actors could gain stage experience and see professionals at work.
In 1987 the building was extended again, based on a design by Stynen and his assistant Paul De Meyer. Additional space was created for the Conservatoire, and a small public foyer for DE SINGEL added.
Two years later, DE SINGEL exhibited the work of the young architect Stéphane Beel. This marked the beginning of a successful collaboration. In the late 80s, Beel designed the doors that separate the corridors and halls from the entrance hall and allow for ticket checking. In these so called ‘potato doors’ he echoed the shape of Stynen’s typical oval windows in solid sections in the glass door
panels. In 1990 Beel curated a retrospective exhibition on the work of Léon Stynen in which he again underlined his affinity with the building.
In 1995, Beel was tasked with drawing up a masterplan for the reorganisation and extension of DE SINGEL and the Conservatoire. His proposal needed to formulate solutions that chimed with the development and ambition of the arts campus. Phase one of the masterplan was completed in 2000. An additional circulation route and more artists’ dressing rooms were added to the building. The Red Hall stage was enlarged, and the artists’ foyer was given more space and daylight. In 2002, Beel was tasked by Minster of Culture Bert Anciaux with implementing the second phase of the project, in which the Hogeschool Antwerpen (now AP University of Applied Sciences and Arts) was involved. The project was begun in 2007 and completed in 2010, DE SINGEL as we know it today.
Inspired by the unique architecture of DE SINGEL?
Reserve your guided tour via tours@desingel.be.